Chelsea duo Emerson, Jorginho won European double, the list of players who achieved the feat earlier

Emerson and Jorginho won UEFA Champions League with Chelsea and Euro 2020 with Italy. Here, is the list of players who won the European double earlier.

Oriol Romeu, Fernando Torres, Cesar Azpilicueta, Juan Mata of Chelsea - UEFA Europa League
Oriol Romeu, Fernando Torres, Cesar Azpilicueta, Juan Mata of Chelsea - UEFA Europa League / IMAGO

Emerson and Jorginho starred for Italy, who lifted the Euro 2020 title after defeating England in the finals.

Italian duo Jorginho and Emerson achieve a unique feat after lifting the Euro 2020 title as they have secured a Champions League and European Championship double this season.

Although Emerson didn’t have a big role to play, Jorginho was instrumental for Chelsea and Italy behind the success in UCL and Euros, respectively.

By doing so, Emerson and Jorginho joined the elite list of players who had completed the European double. Here we take a look at the players who had achieved the feat before.

Spanish legend Luis Suarez tasted the success of the European double after winning the Euros with the national team in 1964 while also inspiring Inter Milan to European Cup in the same year.

Dutch quartet Ronald Koeman, Barry van Aerle, Hans van Breucklen and Gerald Vanenburg are also on the list as they led PSV to European Cup in 1988 and also won the European Championship.

Spain dominated the international scenes between 2008 and 2012, winning a World Cup and two Euros during the timespan. Fernando Torres and Juan Mata were part of the Spanish squad that won the 2012 European Championship, and the duo also helped Chelsea win the Champions League in the same season.

Prior to Emerson and Jorginho, Portugal duo Cristiano Ronaldo and Pepe achieved the double after winning the Euros in 2016 and the Champions League with Real Madrid. Ronaldo had a terrific season at both club and international level, which eventually saw him bag the Ballon d’Or award that year.