Scotland Euro 2020 Squad: Gilmour, Tierney and Robertson makes the cut, Teenager Patterson earns call

Scotland-McGinn, McLean, Fraser, Tierney, Adams, McGregor, Dykes, Hanley, McTominay, Gordon, Robertson
Scotland-McGinn, McLean, Fraser, Tierney, Adams, McGregor, Dykes, Hanley, McTominay, Gordon, Robertson | Photo Credit: IMAGO

Steven Clarke has summoned the likes of Billy Gilmour, Kieran Tierney and Andy Robertson for Scotland’s 26-man squad for Euro 2020.

The Scots are drawn up in Group C that contains Croatia, Czech Republic and England.

Chelsea midfielder Gilmour has made it to the list despite an underwhelming campaign, which saw him deprived of regular game time. However, Scotland manager Clarke considered that the talented teenager is too good to be left out.

Kieran Tierney, one of the top performers in an otherwise lacklustre Arsenal side, has cut alongside Liverpool left-back Andrew Robertson. Leeds United centre-back Liam Cooper, who made 25 appearances in the Premier League this season, will lead the back-line

The midfield packs a punch with the likes of Scott McTominay and John McGinn, who both enjoyed a strong season in the Premier League.

David Turnbull of Celtic will provide the cutting edge as he mustered a total of 8 goals and 6 assists in the Scottish Premiership.

Turnbull’s teammate James Forrest endured an injury-hit season but will play a key role for the Scotts. The Hoops winger has earned 35 international caps so far.

Another eye-catching thing with the selection is the call-up of Rangers teenage defender Nathan Patterson, who was part of Steven Gerrard’s title-winning campaign.

Southampton striker Che Adams is the favoured option for the centre-forward role, with the 24-year-old enjoying a productive season with the Saints. Newcastle United’s Ryan Fraser has also got the nod despite his worrying form.

Scotland has a mammoth task awaiting as they have to overcome the likes of giants like England and Croatia in the group stage. 

However, with a talented squad at their disposal, the Scots have the ability to punch above their weight.

Scotland Euro 2020 Squad

Here is the complete squad list of Scotland:


Craig Gordon (Heart of Midlothian), David Marshall (Derby County), Jon McLaughlin (Rangers)


Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Declan Gallagher (Motherwell), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Jack Hendry (KV Oostende) *on loan from Celtic, Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forrest), Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Greg Taylor (Celtic), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal)


Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Billy Gilmour (Chelsea), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), David Turnbull (Celtic)


Ché Adams (Southampton), Lyndon Dykes (Queen’s Park Rangers), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle United), Kevin Nisbet (Hibernian)