Sassuolo 3-3 Inter Milan: Inter stumbled despite scoring three goals

Sassuolo 3-3 Inter Milan Inter stumbled despite scoring three goals
Sassuolo 3-3 Inter Milan Inter stumbled despite scoring three goals

Inter Milan was thought to be one of the title challenger this season along with Lazio, but they stumbled once again at San Siro as the were held by Sassuolo in a 3-3 draw.

Inter starting with Lukaku and Sanchez at the front with Eriksen in the middle. Lautaro Martinez started on bench and replaced Alexis Sanchez in the second half.

Francesco Caputo scored, as mid-table Sassuolo ahead from a counter attack. Romelu Lukaku equalised from a penalty, when Skriniar was tripped inside the box. Romelu Lukaku scored his 25th goal of the season as Inter Milan drew.

It had been a regular affair in the six-goal-thriller, as the scoresheet kept swinging.

Alexis Sanchez set up Cristiano Biraghi to give Inter the lead in the first half once again, but then substitute Ashley Young conceded a penalty in a very similar manner at the same spot where Skriniar was fouled in the first half. Domenico Berardi converted to level the score.

Inter could secure a 3-1 lead in the early second half when Lukaku fired straight to goalkeeper after a move along with fellow striker Lautaro Martinez, but Roberto Gagliardini hit the crossbar on rebound. Previously Lukaku’s goal was disallowed because of offside.

Borja Valero and Sassuolo’s Giangiacomo Magnani scored late tap-ins before Inter had Milan’s Skriniar sent off with a second yellow.

Antonio Conte’s Inter has been a reunion of former Premier league players, as six of them feature in the team.

At the end, Inter’s slim hope for the title are perhaps now over, sitting eight points behind leaders Juventus.

Inter Milan

1-Handanovic, 37-Skriniar <Booked at 90>, 13-Ranocchia (de Vrij 54′), 95-Bastoni <Booked at 44>, 11-Moses (Candreva 75′), 5-Gagliardini, 20-Valero, 34-Biraghi (Young 75′), 24-Eriksen (Agoume 62′), 9-Lukaku, 7-Sánchez (Martínez 62′)


2-Godín, 6-de Vrij, 10-Martínez, 15-Young, 18-Asamoah, 23-Barella, 27-Padelli, 30-Esposito, 31-Pirola, 32-Agoume, 33-D’Ambrosio, 87-Candreva


47-Consigli, 17-Müldür, 21-Chiriches (Magnani 79′), 31-Ferrari, 6-Oliveira da Silva <Booked at 23> (Kyriakopoulos 45′), 4-Magnanelli (Locatelli 58′), 14-Obiang, 25-Berardi, 10-Djuricic, 7-Boga (Haraslin 67′), 9-Caputo(Defrel 58′)


11-Defrel, 13-Peluso, 18-Raspadori, 23-Traore, 27-Haraslin, 32-Magnani, 35-Piccinini, 56-Pegolo, 64-Russo, 68-Bourabia, 73-Locatelli, 77-Kyriakopoulos