Super League rebels Barcelona, Real Madrid, Juventus to face sanctions; UEFA accepts reintegration of nine clubs


The clubs supporting European Super League – Barcelona, Juventus and Real Madrid – are set to face sanctions from UEFA.

UEFA has reportedly accepted the reintegration of nine clubs – Premier League’s big six, AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid – who opted against joining the European Super League.

However, BarcelonaReal Madrid and Juventus appear to be still rebelling against UEFA by backing the breakaway competition. Hence, the trio would face strict sanctions from UEFA.

Premier League’s big six were the first to renounce their involvement in the Super League, although they turned out to be founding members initially. Inter Milan, Atletico Madrid and AC Milan followed them later because of the external pressure from the fans, and as a result, the Super League crumbled.

Despite accepting the reintegration, nine clubs are set to be fined 5% of their revenue. In addition, they have agreed to pay a combined fee of €15m to promote the welfare of the children and grassroots football.

UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin said: “The measures announced are significant, but none of the financial penalties will be retained by UEFA. They will all be reinvested into youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK. These clubs recognised their mistakes quickly and have taken action to demonstrate their contrition and future commitment to European football.”

But Ceferin insisted that the rebellious clubs would face the consequences.

Ceferin added: “The same cannot be said for the clubs that remain involved in the so-called ‘Super League,’ and UEFA will deal with those clubs subsequently.”