Inter 2-3 Sevilla: Sevilla win sixth Europa League title

Inter 2-3 Sevilla - Sevilla win sixth Europa League title

Luuk de Jong brace and Lukaku own goal helped Sevilla win the title.

Sevilla have defeated Inter Milan 3-2 for their sixth Europa League title.

The match started in the worst possible way for the La Liga outfit as Diego Carlos gave away a penalty for a lousy challenge. Romelu Lukaku put Inter ahead in the 4th minute of the game as he continued his unabating goal-scoring run.

Luuk de Jong came up with an equalizer in the 12th minute of the game followed by a brilliant header goal in the 35th minute. Shortly after, Inter’s Diego Godin cancelled the lead with another header from the set-piece.

With both the teams searching for a goal, Lukaku had a great chance in the 64th minute to put Inter ahead, only to be denied by Moroccon goalkeeper Bono. Despite scoring the opener for his side, Lukaku had the worst night to remember as he accidentally scored an own goal in the final quarter, which sealed the game for Sevilla. 

The decision to start De Jong instead of En-Nesyri has paid off for the Andalusian club as the Dutchman scored the decisive goals. 

Julan Lopetegui had previously led Sevilla to a top-four finish in La Liga and now followed by the Europa League title in his first season as the manager. Meanwhile, Antonio Conte’s return to the managerial role hasn’t yielded him anything but finishing second in Serie A and the runners up in Europa League.

The win makes Sevilla the most celebrated team in the competition as they have clinched the sixth title.


Inter Milan: Handanovic; Godin (Candreva 90), De Vrij, Bastoni; D’Ambrosio (Moses 78), Barella, Brozovic, Gagliardini (Eriksen 78), Young; Lukaku, Lautaro Martinez (Alexis Sanchez 78)

Sevilla: Bounou; Navas, Kounde, Diego Carlos (Gudelj 86), Reguilon; Jordan, Fernando, Banega; Ocampos (Munir 71), De Jong (En-Nesyri 85), Suso (Vazquez 78)