Barcelona 4-0 Mallorca: Barca resumed La Liga campaign with a win

Barcelona 4-0 Mallorca Barca resumed La Liga with a convincing win
Barcelona 4-0 Mallorca Barca resumed La Liga with a convincing win

Barcelona picked up a 4-0 win over Mallorca in La Liga last night.

The Spanish giants are well on course for the title and they will be looking to continue their impressive form by winning their remaining games.

The away side took the lead in the 1st minute through Arturo Vidal’s powerful header. De Jong did well to win the ball near the Mallorca box and Alba set up the goal with an inch perfect cross. 

Barcelona added their second through Martin Braithwaite. The forward scored on his debut with a little helping hand from Lionel Messi.

The Argentine was at the heart of play throughout the ninety minutes and most of Barcelona’s attack went through him.

Messi managed to set up Barcelona’s third with a lovely curling ball for Alba. The Spaniard was sent through on goal and he finished with aplomb. 

The Spanish champions wrapped up the three points with their fourth in injury time. Luis Suarez set up the final goal of the game for Lionel Messi, whose deflected shot rifled into the Mallorca net.

The home side tried their best to put up a resistance but Barcelona’s quality made all the difference in the end. They managed to cut the home side open time and again.

They will be looking to build on this win and perform better in their upcoming games. The Catalan giants seemed rusty at times yesterday and yet they managed to win 4-0. 

Mallorca – Starting Eleven

1-Reina, 7-Pozo, 24-Valjent, 21-Raíllo, 2-Sastre (Gámez 45′), 26-Kubo, 6-Pedraza (Babaat 57′), 8-Sevilla(Saliburat 84′), 14-Rodríguez Vázquez <Booked at 86>, 29-Hernández(Lago 45′), 22-Budimir (Pratsat 85′)


4-Señé, 5-Campos Coll, 9-Prats, 11-Lago, 12-Baba, 15-Gámez, 16-Salibur, 17-Trajkovski, 19-Chavarria, 20-Sedlar, 23-Febas, 25-Parera


1-ter Stegen, 20-Roberto (Nélson Semedo 71′), 3-Piqué, 33-Araújo, 18Alba <Booked at 73′>, 22Vidal <Booked at 42> (Rakitic 45′), 5-Busquets (Arthur 71′), 21-de Jong (Firpo 84′), 10-Messi, 17-Griezmann (Suárez 57′), 19-Braithwaite


2-Nélson Semedo, 4-Rakitic, 8-Arthur, 9-Suárez, 13-Murara Neto, 23-Umtiti,, 24-Firpo, 26-Peña, 28-Puig, 30-Collado, 31-Fati, 42-Rodríguez Jiménez