Man City 1-0 Tottenham: Laporte winner hands Guardiola his fourth successive league cup trophy

Manchester City beat Tottenham Hotspur 1-0 in Carabao Cup final to lift successive fourth trophy in front of limited number of fans, as Aymeric Laporte scored late winner.

Aymeric Laporte-Manchester City

Manchester City managed to win the Carabao Cup after a 1-0 victory over Tottenham Hotspur in the final.

Aymeric Laporte scored the only goal of the game on the 82nd minute for Manchester City, and Pep Guardiola will be delighted to have added another silverware to his collection.

Although the score was 1-0, Manchester City were in cruise control throughout the game, and Tottenham hardly had a chance to express themselves.

Guardiola has now lost just one tie in the Carabao Cup since joining Manchester City, and he has managed to win the competition for the 4th successive time.

Tottenham were handed a major boost ahead of the game with Harry Kane returning from his injury, but the England international failed to inspire his side to break their trophy drought.

Spurs struggled to control the midfield, and they were outplayed comfortably by a team that is used to winning silverware every season. 

The Foden and Mahrez show

Phil Foden and Riyad Mahrez have been in exceptional form this season, and they have managed to prevent the likes of Raheem Sterling from regularly starting this season.

Both players were instrumental to Manchester City’s win once again, and Spurs struggle to deal with their touch and explosiveness.

Ryan Mason’s inexperience

The 29-year-old took charge of Tottenham after the sacking of Jose Mourinho, but the reality is that the former Tottenham midfielder is highly inexperienced, and Pep Guardiola managed to make the most out of the situation.

Manchester City pressed Tottenham from start to finish, and they dictated the tempo of the game.

Spurs could have used a tactical switch during the game, but Mason’s inexperience was a key problem for the Londoners.

A seasoned manager like Mourinho would have realised his side’s shortcomings, and he would have altered the setup. The timing of his sacking remains baffling, and Spurs should have waited until the end of the season. 

Manchester City win a first trophy of the season—and a 9th under Pep Guardiola—after beating Tottenham 1-0 in the EFL Cup Final
lkay Gundogan and Phil Foden for consoling Heung-min Son at full-time.
"I CANNOT believe that Jose Mourinho did not take charge of that final."- Former Spurs player Jamie O'Hara did not hold back in his appraisal of Tottenham's decision to sack Jose Mourinho earlier in the week.


Manchester City

Zack Steffen, Aymeric Laporte, Rúben Dias, João Cancelo, Kyle Walker, Kevin De Bruyne (Bernardo Silva), Ilkay Gündogan, Fernandinho (Rodri), Phil Foden, Raheem Sterling, Riyad Mahrez.


Sergio Agüero, Nathan Aké, Benjamin Mendy, Ederson, Gabriel Jesus, Olexandr Zinchenko, Ferrán Torres.

Tottenham Hotspur

Hugo Lloris, Eric Dier, Toby Alderweireld, Sergio Reguilón, Serge Aurier (Steven Bergwijn), Pierre-Emile Højbjerg (Dele Alli), Giovani Lo Celso (Moussa Sissoko), Harry Winks, Harry Kane, Son Heung-Min, Lucas Moura (Gareth Bale).


Joe Hart, Erik Lamela, Davinson Sánchez, Tanguy Ndombele, Japhet Tanganga.