Bayern 2-1 Lazio: Bayern progress to the quarterfinals after goals from Lewandowski, Choupo Moting

Robert Lewandowski-Bayern Munich

Bayern proved too good for Lazio as the defending champions booked their place in the last eight.

As expected, there was no turnaround tonight in the Champions League as Bayern Munich defeated Lazio 2-1 in the second leg of the round of 16, thus progressing to the next round with the aggregate score of 6-2.

The Bavarians had to place Alex Nubel in goal in the place of Manuel Neuer meanwhile Lazio were without the services of striker Ciro Immobile.

Robert Lewandowski opened the account from the penalty spot right before half-time and the Polish striker’s surreal form continued in front of the goal.

Lazio, who had barely troubled Nubel, got their first sight at goal after Joaquin Correa forced a save from the German keeper but soon at the other end, substitute Eric Choupo Moting doubled the lead for the Bavarians.

The Biancocelesti pulled one back after Andrea’s Pereira set-piece found the header of Marco Parolo. Lazio gained momentum from that point but it proved too late for them in the end.

Bayern comfortably won the game and also advanced to the last eight of the competition by an aggregate score of 6-2.

Immobile’s absence a major drawback for Lazio

If there is a Lazio player who could have been pivotal in turning things around would be Ciro Immobile.

Lazio missed their star player in a crucial game of this season although Correa is good at linking up play – but the Argentine lacks the scoring instinct inside the box, unlike Immobile.

The Italian combined with Correa in the attack would always be devastating for the opposition’s defenders, but unfortunately, they couldn’t exist in tandem tonight.

Josua Kimmich for Bayern vs. Lazio: 
◉ Most ball recoveries (10) 
◉ Most passes into the box (9) 
◉ Most duels won (8) 
◉ Most take-ons completed (6) 
◉ Most chances created (4) 
◎ 100% take-ons completed 
◎ 89% pass accuracy 
◎ 89% duels won


Bayern Munich

Alexander Nubel, David Alaba, Jerome Boateng, Lucas Hernandez, Benjamin Pavard, Thomas Muller, Leon Goretzka, Joshua Kimmich, Robert Lewandowski, Serge Gnabry, Leroy Sane.


Javi Martínez, Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting, Bouna Sarr, Niklas Sule, Alphonso Davies, Marc Roca, Jamal Musiala, Lukas Schneller.


Pepe Reina, Francesco Acerbi, Stefan Radu, Adam Marusic, Luis Alberto, Gonzalo Escalante, Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, Mohamed Fares, Manuel Lazzari, Vedat Muriqi, Joaquín Correa.


Lucas Leiva, Marco Parolo, Senad Lulic, Ciro Immobile, Mateo Musacchio, Jean-Daniel Akpa Akpro, Patric, Danilo Cataldi, Thomas Strakosha, Wesley Hoedt, Andreas Pereira.