Premier League teams announce Champions League squad

UEFA Champions League 2019-20 - Winning odds for teams

Premier League clubs have announced their squad for the upcoming Champions League tournament for the 20/21 season and there are a few surprising omissions. 

Manchester City have decided to leave Phil Foden out of their A-list squad although the youngster is still eligible for the B-list. Foden has been outstanding for City over the past year and leaving him out of the 21-man squad is certainly a big surprise.

New signings Ake, Dias and Torres have been included in Guardiola’s 21-man squad. 

Meanwhile, Manchester United have decided to leave out Sergio Romero, Marcos Rojo and Phil Jones. All three players have fallen down the pecking order at Old Trafford and it is hardly a surprise that they are omitted from the European squad. 

Liverpool have decided to leave out young winger Harry Wilson. New signings Jota, Thiago and Tsimikas have been included.

Wilson has been linked with a move away from the club and it will be interesting to see if he can secure an exit in the coming days. 

Finally, Chelsea have decided to leave out the likes of Baba Rahman, Victor Moses, Danny Drinkwater, Charly Musonda and Nathan Baxter.

Manchester City

Goalkeepers: Ederson, Steffen, Carson

Defenders: Walker, Dias, Stones, Ake, Zinchenko, Laporte, Mendy, Cancelo

Midfielders: Gundogan, Rodri, De Bruyne, Bernardo, Torres, Fernandinho

Forwards: Mahrez, Sterling, Jesus, Aguero

Manchester United

Goalkeepers: De Gea, Henderson, Grant

Defenders: Bailly, Fosu-Mensah, Lindelof, Maguire, Shaw, Alex Telles, Tuanzebe, Wan-Bissaka

Midfielders: Bruno Fernandes, Fred, James, Lingard, Mata, Matic, McTominay, Pellistri, Pogba, Van de Beek

Forwards: Cavani, Ighalo, Martial, Rashford


Goalkeepers: Alisson, Adrian, Kelleher

Defenders: Van Dijk, Gomez, Tsimikas, Robertson, Matip, Alexander-Arnold 

Midfielders: Fabinho, Thiago Alcantara, Milner, Keita, Henderson, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Shaqiri, Minamino, Elliott

Forwards: Firmino, Mane, Salah, Jota, Origi

The likes of Williams and Curtis Jones are eligible for the B-list. 


Goalkeepers: Arrizabalaga, Caballero, Mendy

Defenders: Rudiger, Alonso, Thiago Silva, Christensen (HG), Tomori (HG), Zouma, Azpilicueta, Palmieri, Chilwell (HG)

Midfielders: Jorginho, Kante, Kovacic, Ziyech, Havertz, Pulisic

Forwards: Abraham (HG), Werner, Giroud

Hudson-Odoi, Mason Mount, Billy Gilmour are all eligible for the B-list.