Son wins FIFA Puskas award, Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski included in FIFPro XI

Son Heung-min-Tottenham Hotspur

Tottenham Hotspur and South Korea striker Son Heung-Min has been announced the winner of the FIFA Puskas award at The Best FIFA awards held in Zurich on Thursday night.

The striker was given the individual award for his incredible solo-goal for Tottenham against Burnley in December last year.

Son beat off competition from Barcelona’s Luis Suarez and Georgian D Arrascaeta to go home with the award which is given to the best goal scored in a calendar year.


FIFA also released the names for the 2020 FIFA FIFPro Men’s World XI, with Messi and Ronaldo making the team again.

The two legends who finished behind Polish striker Robert Lewandowski in the FIFA Men’s Player award make up the front three alongside the Bayern Munich man.

Lewandowski had a brilliant year with Bayern Munich, as he inspired his side to a Bundesliga, Champions League and DFB Cup glory in 2020. Despite not winning a trophy, Messi enjoyed a remarkable season at Barcelona on a personal level while Ronaldo helped Juventus to Scudetto.

In midfield, Kevin De Bruyne is joined by Bayern Munich star Joshua Kimmich and former teammate and Liverpool summer signing Thiago Alcantara to complete a midfield three. The Belgian was a standout player in the Premier League last season while Kimmich and Alcântara were instrumental in their sides’ treble-winning campaign.

Liverpool have two players in defence as Trent Alexander-Arnold joined Virgil van Dijk in a back-four made up by Real Madrid captain Sergio Ramos and Bayern Munich’s Alphonso Davies.

Manuel Neuer, who won the individual Best Keeper Award for men, misses out to Alisson Becker in goal. The Brazilian was instrumental for the Reds as they won their first title in 30 years.

FIFA FIFPro Men’s World XI

Alisson Becker (Liverpool FC)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool FC), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF) and Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool FC), Alphonso Davies (FC Bayern Munich)

Thiago Alcantara (FC Bayern Munich /Liverpool FC), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City FC), Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern Munich),

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus FC), Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)