Champions League Semifinals without a Premier League, La Liga, Serie A team

UEFA Champions League 2019-20 would be the first-ever tournament when none of the semifinalists is from Premier League, La Liga or Serie A.

Champions League Semifinal without a Premier League, La Liga, Serie A team
Champions League Semifinal without a Premier League, La Liga, Serie A team

Champions League 2019-20 would be the first edition of the tournament since the inception of Premier League, that no team from Premier League, La Liga and Serie A have qualified for Champions League semifinals.

UEFA Champions League Semifinals in 2003, 2005, 2007, 2008 and 2009 had all four teams from these top three leagues in European football.

Premier League

The challenge from Premier League ended with Lyon edged out Manchester City in the quarterfinal of the current version of Champions League. Previously defending champion Liverpool and Chelsea ended their campaign in Round-of-16 after they were beaten by Atletico Madrid and Bayern Munich respectively.

La Liga

Barcelona and Atletico Madrid failed to proceed to Semifinal when they were stopped by Bayern Munich and new challenger from Bundesliga RB Leipzig respectively. Real Madrid were unable to proceed further after their Round-of-16 appearance against Manchester City.

Serie A

Juventus and Cristiano Ronaldo ended their run for Champions League 2019-20 when they were edged out by Lyon. Atalanta had a great run, and it could have gone a long way with a bit of luck. But they have missed the seminal in last three minutes of quarterfinal match against Paris Saint-Germain. Other Serie A contender Inter Milan are fighting for ‘Europa League final’ spot.

Champions League Semifinalists (1993-2020)

The following list shows list of all Semi-finalist from 1993-2020

Champions League Semifinals without a Premier League, La Liga, Serie A team European Leagues La Liga Premier League Serie A UEFA Champions League
YearSemi-finalist (1)Semi-finalist (2)Semi-finalist (3)Semi-finalist (4)
1993 Milan Marseille Rangers IFK Göteborg
1994 Barcelona Milan Monaco Porto
1995 Bayern Munich Milan Ajax Paris Saint-Germain
1996 Juventus Ajax PanathinaikosNantes
1997 Manchester United Juventus Ajax Borussia Dortmund
1998 Real Madrid Juventus Borussia Dortmund Monaco
1999 Bayern Munich Manchester United Juventus Dynamo Kyiv
2000 Real Madrid Bayern Munich Barcelona Valencia
2001 Real Madrid Bayern Munich Leeds United Valencia
2002 Real Madrid Barcelona Manchester UnitedBayer Leverkusen
2003 Real Madrid Milan Juventus Inter Milan
2004 Chelsea Monaco PortoDeportivo de La Coruña
2005 Milan Liverpool Chelsea PSV Eindhoven
2006 Barcelona Milan Arsenal Villarreal
2007 Milan Manchester United Liverpool Chelsea
2008 Barcelona Manchester United Liverpool Chelsea
2009 Barcelona Manchester United Chelsea Arsenal
2010 Bayern Munich Barcelona Inter Milan Lyon
2011 Real Madrid Barcelona Manchester UnitedSchalke 04
2012 Real Madrid Bayern Munich Barcelona Chelsea
2013 Real Madrid Bayern Munich Barcelona Borussia Dortmund
2014 Real Madrid Bayern Munich Chelsea Atlético Madrid
2015 Real Madrid Bayern Munich Barcelona Juventus
2016 Real Madrid Bayern Munich Atlético MadridManchester City
2017 Real Madrid Juventus Atlético Madrid Monaco
2018 Real Madrid Bayern Munich Liverpool Roma
2019 Barcelona Liverpool Ajax Tottenham Hotspur
2020 Paris Saint-GermainRB Leipzig Bayern MunichLyon