Norway 0-3 Turkey: Tufan’s sensational double thrashes Norway, Haaland had two goals ruled out

Ozan Tufan-Caglar Soyuncu-Turkey

Haaland and co were kept at bay as Turkey maintained their impressive run in the World Cup Qualifiers.

Turkey continued their impressive run in the World Cup Qualifiers after thrashing Norway 3-0, thanks to the match-winning double from Ozan Tufan.

Both sides were victorious in their opening games and the contest was touted as the weekend fest.

Turkey had their breakthrough inside three minutes after a brilliant left-footed strike from midfielder Ozan Tufan.

Norway had a great chance to equalise but Alexander Sorloth’s thunderous strike was denied by the woodwork.

Minutes later, the visitors doubled their lead this time It was Leicester City defender Caglar Soyuncu who directed his header into nets from a corner kick.

Turkey put the game beyond Norway’s reach when Tufan scored a belter of a strike from his right foot around the hour-mark. The goal also marked the second of the night for the Fenerbahce midfielder.

Norway, who were victorious in their opening game, succumbed to a 3-0 defeat despite the presence of Erling Haaland and Martin Odegaard.

Haaland found the nets on two occasions but both were ruled offside much to his dismay.

Turkey couldn’t have dreamt of such a start to their World Cup Qualifying campaign, starting with a big win against the Netherlands days ago.

Tufan has been a key cog in the midfield for Fenerbahce for the last two seasons and the Turks are certainly benefiting from his services in the national team.

The Norwegians, despite the presence of promising names like Haaland, Odegaard and Sorloth, have been poor especially in their final third and it will be the key area they need to counter in the upcoming games.



Rune Jarstein, Birger Meling, Stian Rode Gregersen, Kristoffer Ajer, Julian Ryerson, Fredrik Midtsjø, Mohamed Elyounoussi, Patrick Berg, Martin Ødegaard, Alexander Sørloth, Erling Haaland


André Hansen, Sten Grytebust, Stefan Strandberg, Ruben Gabrielsen, Jonas Svensson, Martin Linnes, Mats Møller Dæhli, Jens Petter Hauge, Iver Fossum, Kristian Thorstvedt, Morten Thorsby, Joshua King


Ugurcan Cakır, Umut Meraş, Mert Muldur, Caglar Soyuncu, Kaan Ayhan, Hakan Calhanoglu, Okay Yokuslu, Ozan Tufan, Yusuf Yazıcı, Kenan Karaman, Burak Yılmaz


Mert Günok, Altay Bayındır, Caner Erkin, Ozan Kabak, Abdülkerim Bardakcı, Dorukhan Toköz, Halil Akbunar, Orkun Kokcu, Taylan Antalyalı, Deniz Turuc, Enes Ünal, Cenk Tosun