Romania 0-1 Germany: Serge Gnabry scores the winning goal for the visitors

Serge Gnabry-Germany

Germany picked up a 1-0 win over Romania in the World Cup qualifiers earlier tonight.

Bayern Munich winger Serge Gnabry scored the only goal of the game on the 16th minute and it was set up by the Chelsea midfielder Kai Havertz.

The win tonight takes Germany to the top of Group J. The Germans have secured two wins from two matches in the group stages so far.

Germany manager Joachim Low decided to field an inexperienced attack against Romania and he would have expected more goals on the night.

The likes of Kai Havertz, Serge Gnabry and Leroy Sane started the game in a front three and they are capable of performing a lot better than they did tonight. 

Germany enjoyed 65% ball possession and they had nine shots on target against Romania. Romania could have easily ended up conceding more goals on the night. The likes of Goretzka and Gundogan have been in excellent form this season and they dominated the midfield tonight. 

Low will be disappointed with his side’s use of the ball tonight. Germany had sustained spells of possession throughout the game but they lacked the cutting edge in the final third. 

Meanwhile, Low decided to field some of his fringe players at the back as well. The likes of Klostermann, Ginter and Emre Can started the game over the likes of Mats Hummels tonight and they did a decent job at the back.



Florin Nița, Camora, Alin Toșca, Vlad Chiricheș, Ovidiu Popescu, Nicolae Stanciu, Răzvan Marin, Valentin Mihaila, Florin Tănase, Ianis Hagi, Claudiu Keșeru


David Lazar, Andrei Radu, Nicușor Bancu, Ionuț Nedelcearu, Andrei Burcă, Vasile Mogoș, Alexandru Maxim, Alexandru Cicâldău, Eric Bicfalvi, Dennis Man, Alexandru Crețu, George Pușcaș


Manuel Neuer, Emre Can, Antonio Rüdiger, Matthias Ginter, Lukas Klostermann, İlkay Gündoğan, Joshua Kimmich, Leon Goretzka, Leroy Sané, Serge Gnabry, Kai Havertz


Bernd Leno, Marc-André ter Stegen, Jonathan Tah, Jamal Musiala, Florian Neuhaus, Florian Wirtz, Timo Werner, Amin Younes, Philipp Max