Twenty shortlist announced for the Golden Boy 2019 award

20-man shortlist for the Golden Boy 2019 award
20-man shortlist for the Golden Boy 2019 award

Twenty were shortlisted from top European leagues for Golden Boy 2019. The Golden Boy award is given by sports journalists to a young footballer playing in Europe perceived to have been the most impressive during a calendar year (two halves to two separate seasons). All nominees must be under the age of 21 and play in a European nation’s top tier. The award was created by Italian newspaper Tuttosport in 2003.

Juventus centre-back Matthijs de Ligt won last year’s award for his performances at Ajax, while past winners also include Lionel Messi, Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappé. Cristiano Ronaldo and Zlatan Ibrahimović did not receive this award.

Atletico Madrid forward Joao Felix is favourite to win the award this year following his impressive performances for Benfica last season.

Twenty shortlisted for the Golden Boy 2019

Matthijs de Ligt JuventusNetherlandsDefender
Alphonso DaviesBayern MunichCanadaForward
Gianluigi Donnarumma AC MilanItalyGoal-Keeper
Ansu Fati Barcelona ​​SpainForward
Phil Foden Manchester CityEnglandMidfielder
Matteo Guendouzi ArsenalFranceMidfielder
Erling Braut HalandRB SalzburgNorwayForward
Kai Havertz Bayer LeverkusenGermanyMidfielder
Joao Felix Atlético de MadridPortugalForward
Dejan JoveljicEintracht FrankfurtSerbiaForward
Moise Kean EvertonItalyForward
Kang-in Lee Valencia CFSouth KoreaMidfielder
Andrij OleksijovycValladolidUkraineGoal-Keeper
Donyell Malen PSV EindhovenNetherlandsForward
Mason Mount ChelseaEnglandForward
RodrygoReal MadridBrazilForward
Jadon Sancho Borussia DortmundEnglandForward
Ferran Torres Valencia CFSpainForward
Vinicius JrReal MadridBrazilForward
Nicolo Zaniolo AS RomaItalyMidfielder

Past winners of Golden Boy Award from 2003, as follow

[table id=55 /]