Bayern Munich 1-0 Tigres UANL: Hansi Flick’s men lift the FIFA Club World Cup title to complete sextuple

Robert Lewandowski-Bayern Munich

Benjamin Pavard scores the only goal of the final as Bayern lift the club world cup title.

Bayern Munich defeated Tigres UANL 1-0 to become the FIFA Club World Cup champion, with Benjamin Pavard scoring the winning goal.

Thomas Muller’s absence after testing positive for COVID-19 forced a little change in the set-up but it didn’t keep them em from playing good football as Joshua Kimmich had a goal denied by VAR.

The brilliant strike from Kimmich was turned down because of Robert Lewandowski’s offside in the buildup.

However, Bayern had their breakthrough around the hour mark when Pavard latched onto the rebound, saved initially by Guzman, to send the ball into the nets.

UANL, who had played their first-ever Club World Cup, failed to soak up the pressure created by Bayern.

The Bavarians lifted the FIFA Club World Cup title, which marked their sixth major honour in the past 12 months.

Following Pep Guardiola’s Barcelona in 2009, Hansi Flick became the prestigious manager to win all the six trophies – sextuple – in a single instance.

Flick, who has lost only five games since taking the reins, offered his thoughts on the victory.

 “The team played outstandingly. The win was never in danger, we dominated and deservedly won the final. We were all at the limit, the same goes for me at the touchline. The match against Tigres was on eye-level, even though we dominated. They deserved to be in this final.”