FIFA Awards 2020: Who did Messi, Ronaldo, others vote for?

Sarri - Messi with one more Ballon d’Or than Ronaldo is 'annoying'

Robert Lewandowski was crowned as the best player in the world for the first time in his career during the FIFA football awards 2020 ceremony earlier this week.

The Bayern Munich striker was outstanding last year and he deserved to pick up the accolade after guiding the German club to a Bundesliga win and a Champions League win. He managed to score 55 goals in all competitions last season.

Robert Lewandowski’s club teammate Manuel Neuer was chosen as the best FIFA men’s goalkeeper for his performances last season. However, his omission from the team of the year was highly surprising. 

The award was decided on the basis of votes from international captains from all across the globe. 

How Messi, Ronaldo voted?

Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo voted for the Polish international to be awarded the best player followed by Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe in second and third place.

Meanwhile, Lionel Messi voted for Neymar to win the award with Kylian Mbappe and Robert Lewandowski in second and third place. 

Meanwhile, the FIFA men’s coach award was snapped up by Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp for the second consecutive year after steering Liverpool to the English Premier League title for the first time after three decades.

Bayern Munich manager Hansi Flick finished in second place and the outcome was decided with votes from national team captains.

The general consensus around the outcome is that Flick has been hard done by after a remarkable season with the German giants. He managed to win a treble with Bayern including the Champions League and he should have won the award. 

Cristiano Ronaldo voted for Hansi Flick to win the best manager award. Meanwhile, Lionel Messi opted for Hansi Flick as well. 

Robert Lewandowski unsurprisingly picked Hansi Flick as his top choice followed by his former manager Jurgen Klopp. 

Bayern Munich and Liverpool dominated the FIFA FIFPro Men’s World 11 as well. Tottenham Hotspurs’s South Korean forward Son Heung-Min was awarded the FIFA Puskas award for his stunning solo effort against Burnley in December 2019.