Haaland beats Bayern, Barcelona aces to win 2020 Golden Boy award

Erling Haaland-Borussia Dortmund

Borussia Dortmund striker Erling Haaland was recently chosen as the 2020 Golden Boy award winner.

The Norwegian international has exploded onto the first team scene over the past year and he managed to score 44 goals in all competitions last season.

Before his move to Borussia Dortmund, Haaland was outstanding for RB Salzburg in the Austrian League and in the Champions League.

The young striker has started this season in sublime form as well and the 20 year old has scored 15 goals in 12 matches.

Haaland has beaten elite talents like Alphonso Davies and Ansu Fati to win the award. His Dortmund teammate Jadon Sancho and Rennes midfielder Eduardo Camavinga finished in the top five as well.

Furthermore, Manchester City midfielder Phil Foden and Manchester United attacker Mason Greenwood were all named on the initial 20 man shortlist.

Other players from the Premier League include Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka and Chelsea’s Callum Hudson-Odoi.

Haaland winning the award is hardly surprising. He has proven himself to be a world class talent and there is no doubt that he is the best 20 year old footballer in the world right now.

The Dortmund striker is already competing with world class players like Robert Lewandowski on a regular basis and he has the potential to develop into one of the superstars of his generation.

Atletico Madrid forward Joao Felix won the award in 2019. 

Top 5 players ranked in the Golden Boy 2020 standings

1Erling HaalandBorussia Dortmund
2Ansu FatiBarcelona
3Alphonso DaviesBayern Munich
4Jadon SanchoBorussia Dortmund
5Eduardo CamavingaRennes
6Dejan KulusevskiJuventus
7Phil FodenManchester City
8Dominik SzoboszlaiFC Salzburg
9Bukayo SakaArsenal
10Vinicius Jr.Real Madrid