Pep Guardiola named the League Managers Association (LMA) ‘manager of the year’

Pep Guardiola-Manchester City

Manchester City‘s coach Pep Guardiola has been named the LMA Manager of the Year for a stellar season with Manchester City.

The Spaniard led his side to their fifth league title in their history, finishing 12 points clear at the Premier League summit after a spectacular second half to the season.

He also became the first manager to win the league cup for four consecutive seasons as he led his side to a Carabao Cup win over Tottenham in April.

This is the third time the former Bayern Munich manager is winning the award after picking up the same in the 2017/18 season when his side became the first English team to reach 100 points in the Premier League.

Guardiola saw off competition from fellow Premier League managers Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds), Daniel Farke (Norwich), David Moyes (West Ham) and Brendan Rodgers (Leicester), with Chelsea Women’s manager Emma Hayes also making the top six votes.

Upon receiving the award, Guardiola paid homage to his players and staff for overcoming a difficult season to win a domestic double.

“I am delighted to win this award for the second time, but an award like this is only possible if a manager is surrounded by top professionals,” said Guardiola.

“My players have been fantastic – their dedication and professionalism never wavered, even in a season that has been the most challenging we have ever faced.

“And my staff are also deserving of the highest praise. I am so lucky to have a team of people who give everything they have every single day to make sure Manchester City are the best we can be.

“This award is dedicated to and shared with them.”

The Catalan will be looking to add another trophy to his collection this season when he leads his side out against Chelsea in the UEFA Champions League final on Saturday.