Man City 2-0 Gladbach: City stroll into last eight, De Bruyne blinder decides the fate early

Kevin de Bruyne-Manchester City

Premier League side Manchester City have booked their place in the quarter-finals of the Champions League with a win over Borussia Mönchengladbach in the second leg of the knockout rounds earlier tonight.

Manchester City came into this game with a 2-0 lead from the first leg and they were completely dominant against the Germans once again.

Pep Guardiola decided to rest some of his key attackers like Raheem Sterling, Gabriel Jesus and Sergio Aguero for this game but Manchester City had no problems finding their way past Gladbach’s defence.

The Premier League side managed to score their hundredth goal this season as well.

Kevin De Bruyne opened the scoring for the home side on the 12th minute and Ilkay Gundogan wrapped up the scoring six minutes later.

Gladbach had a few half-chances in the second half but their finishing was not up to the mark.

Riyad Mahrez had the chance to add to Manchester City’s lead late on in the game but the Algerian spurned quite a few opportunities.

City have won the tie 4-0 on aggregate and they will be hoping to go all the way in the competition this season. As for Gladbach, they were in abysmal form coming into this game and it is no surprise that they have ended up on the losing side once again.

Manchester City were clear favourites after six consecutive losses for the German side coming into this game.

The draw for the quarter-finals will take place later this week on Friday and it will be interesting to see who Manchester City come up against in the last eight of the competition now.

Manchester CityBorussia Mönchengladbach
EdersonYann Sommer
João CanceloRami Bensebaini
Rúben DiasNico Elvedi
John StonesMatthias Ginter
Kyle WalkerStefan Lainer
İlkay GündoğanDenis Zakaria
RodriFlorian Neuhaus
Bernardo SilvaJonas Hofmann
Phil FodenLars Stindl
Kevin De BruyneMarcus Thuram
Riyad MahrezBreel Embolo
Zack SteffenTobias Sippel
Scott CarsonMax Grün
Nathan AkéOscar Wendt
Oleksandr ZinchenkoMichael Lang
Eric GarcíaTony Jantschke
Benjamin MendyJordan Beyer
Aymeric LaporteValentino Lazaro
FernandinhoHannes Wolf
Ferran TorresPatrick Herrmann
Raheem SterlingChristoph Kramer
Gabriel JesusIbrahima Traoré
Sergio AgüeroAlassane Pléa