Tokyo Olympics Football 2021: Venues, Fixtures, Rules, Teams and Groups

Olympic flame torches kiss during a Tokyo 2020 Olympic Torch Relay event
Olympic flame torches kiss during a Tokyo 2020 Olympic Torch Relay event / IMAGO

The Tokyo Olympic Games are set to begin in the coming days and football will undoubtedly be one of the most exciting competitions in the event.

 The Olympics will feature both men’s and women’s international teams and the football tournament will be held between 21st July and the 7th of August.

Brazil will begin the competition as the defending champions for the men’s tournament.

After losing the Copa America to Argentina earlier this month it will be interesting to see if the South American giants can make up for it by winning the Olympics.


The football Olympic games will be held across Kashima, Saitama, Sapporo, Sendai and Yokohama.


For the first time in its history, VAR will be used at the Olympic Games.

It will be an opportunity for the young players to demonstrate their skills at the highest level as the Olympic football event is only for players who are born either on or after the 1st of January 1997.


The teams competing for men’s football this summer are – Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Côte d’IvoireEgyptFranceGermanyHondurasJapanMexicoNew ZealandRomaniaSaudi ArabiaSouth AfricaSouth Korea, and Spain.

The women’s teams taking part are – Australia, Brazil, CanadaChileChinaGreat BritainJapanNetherlands, New Zealand, SwedenUSA, and Zambia.



Group A: Japan, South Africa, Mexico, France

Group B: New Zealand, South Korea, Honduras, Romania

Group C: Egypt, Spain, Argentina, Australia

Group D: Brazil, Germany, Côte d’Ivoire, Saudi Arabia


Group E: Canada, Chile, Great Britain, Japan

Group F: Brazil, China, Netherlands, Zambia

Group G: Australia, New Zealand, Sweden, USA

Fixtures (Kick-off times in BST/CET)


Thursday 22nd July 2021

Egypt vs Spain (7:30 am)

Mexico vs France (8 am)

New Zealand vs South Korea (8 am)

Côte d’Ivoire vs Saudi Arabia (8:30 am)

Argentina vs Australia (10:30 am)

Honduras vs Romania (11 am)

Japan vs South Africa (11 am)

Brazil vs Germany (11:30 am)

Sunday 25th July 2021

Egypt vs Argentina (7:30 am)

France vs South Africa (8 am)

New Zealand vs Honduras (8 am)

Brazil vs Côte d’Ivoire (8:30 am)

Australia vs Spain (10:30 am)

Romania vs South Korea (11 am)

Japan vs Mexico (11 am)

Saudi Arabia vs Germany (11:30 am)

Wednesday 28th July 2021

Saudi Arabia vs Brazil (8 am)

Germany vs Côte d’Ivoire (8 am)

Romania vs New Zealand (8:30 am)

South Korea vs Honduras (8:30 am)

Spain vs Argentina (11 am)

Australia vs Egypt (11 am)

France vs Japan (11:30 am)

South Africa vs Mexico (11:30 am)


Wednesday 21st July 2021

Great Britain vs Chile (7:30 am)

China vs Brazil (8 am)

Sweden vs USA (8:30 am)

Japan vs Canada (10:30 am)

Zambia vs Netherlands (11 am)

Australia vs New Zealand (11:30 am)

Saturday 24th July 2021

Chile vs Canada (7:30 am)

China vs Zambia (8 am)

Sweden vs Australia (8:30 am)

Japan vs Great Britain (10:30 am)

Netherlands vs Brazil (11 am)

New Zealand vs USA (11:30 am)

Tuesday 27th July 2021

USA vs Australia (8 am)

New Zealand vs Sweden (8 am)

Canada vs Great Britain (11 am)

Chile vs Japan (11 am)

Netherlands vs China (11:30 am)

Brazil vs Zambia (11:30 am)