Julen Lopetegui announced final 23 for Spain; Morata, Fabregas Dropped

Spain announced their world cup squad with a galaxy of stars left out from world cup squad. The squad consist of six players from Real Madrid, four from Barcelona and three from Atletico Madrid.

Sergei Ramos will captain the side and will be accompanied by Real Madrid teammates Marco Asensio, Isco, Dani Carvajal, Nacho Fernandez and Lucas Vazquez.  The Real Madrid players will report to the team’s training camp later than the rest, as they have Champions League final commitments against Liverpool on 26th May.

Among those, who were not picked up by Julen Lopetegui, are Alvaro Morata, Marcos Alonso and Cesc Fabregas from Chelsea as well as veteran goalkeeper Iker Casillas, who moved to Porto from Madrid in 2015.

Julen Lopetegui has named four Premier League players in his squad, with David de Gea, David Silva, Cesar Azpilicueta and Nacho Monreal.

“Including four players up front was not something we wanted to do,” said manager Lopetegui. “We have opted for three other players who had different assets.”

Spain begin their campaign against Portugal on 15 June in Sochi.

Goalkeepers: David de Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli), Kepa Arrizabalaga (Athletic Bilbao).

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Nacho Monreal (Arsenal), Alvaro Odriozola (Real Sociedad), Nacho Fernandez (Real Madrid), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea).

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Isco (Real Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid).

Forwards: Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Iago Aspas (Celta Vigo), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Rodrigo Moreno (Valencia), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid).