Joao Felix wins Golden Boy 2019 Award, ahead of Sancho and de Ligt

Joao Felix was named Golden Boy for 2019
Joao Felix was named Golden Boy for 2019

Portugal and Atletico Madrid forward, Joao Felix has won the Golden Boy award for the best under-21 player in Europe from 20 shortlisted probables.

The 20-year-old Portugal international scored 18 goals for Benfica last season before he moved to Atletico in the summer for reportedly a 126m euros (£113m). He has scored two goals in 10 La Liga appearances for Atletico this term.

“Thank you to ‘Tuttosport’ for the Golden Boy Award 2019, I am very proud. It is the second time that an Atletico Madrid player has won this award (Aguero won it in 2007) and I am happy. Thanks also to Benfica, especially to the coach, Bruno Lage, for everything they have done for me and my family, who are always close to me,” were the Portuguese words with the Italian media after finding out about the news.

Joa Felix succeeds Matthijs de Ligt and Kylian Mbappé as winner among a list made by an International Premium Jury of 40 sports journalists.

Following is ranking as per points obtained by 20 shortlists.

1​Joao FelixAtletico Madrid332​
2Jadon Sancho Borussia Dortmund175
3Kai HavertzBayer Leverkusen75
4Erling HålandSalzburg74
5Matthijs de Ligt Juventus71
6Ansu FatiBarcelona49
7Phil FodenManchester City46
8​Gianluigi DonnarummaAC Milan37
9Nicolo ZanioloRoma36
10Donyell MalenPSV35
11Mason MountChelsea29
12RodrygoReal Madrid20
13Vinicius Jr. Real Madrid13
14​Moise Kean Everton13
15​Andriy Lunin Valladolid11
16Dejan Joveljic Frankfurt9
17​Matteo GuendouziArsenal9
18Alphonso Davies Bayern Munich1
19Kang-in LeeValencia0
20​Alphonso Davies Valencia0