Netherlands Euro 2020 squad: Stekelenburg called up, Depay leads the attack with Gakpo

Memphis Depay-Netherlands

The Netherlands will begin their Euro 2020 campaign on June 14 against Ukraine.

Manager Frank de Boer finalised the 26-man squad list last week, with veteran goalkeeper Maarten Stekelenburg making the cut alongside Jasper Cillessen and Tim Krul.

The 38-year-old Ajax goalkeeper will compete for the starter spot with Krul, as it has been confirmed now that Cillessen would miss the tournament after testing positive for COVID-19.

Inter Milan centre-back Stefan de Vrij and Juventus’s Matthijs de Ligt will hold the defence together in the absence of Virgil van Dijk while Daley Blind will bring a lot of experience to the table.

Frenkie de Jong will be the key cog in the midfield as the Barcelona midfielder is coming off an impressive season. The 23-year-old was one of the best midfielders in La Liga in the recently concluded season as he showed the versatility to play from defence to attack under Ronald Koeman.

Ajax’s Gravenberch is another player to look out for in the midfield alongside Teun Koopmeiners(AZ Alkmaar). Donny van de Beek has also been included, although he had endured a difficult season at Manchester United.

Lyon star Memphis Depay will be taking much onus in the attack as he looks to replicate the same form he enjoyed in Ligue 1. 

Cody Gakpo is an exciting inclusion after the rising Dutch star made a huge impact at PSV Eindhoven. The 22-year-old winger ended up garnering 7 goals and 3 assists in Eredivisie.

Gakpo’s PSV teammate Donyell Malen, rated by many as one of the best strikers in the country, has also been called up.

De Boer is a manager under pressure after getting off to a shaky start since assuming the role of head coach last year, succeeding Koeman.

Netherlands Euro 2020 squad


Jasper Cillessen (Valencia), Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Tim Krul (Dortmund)


Daley Blind (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Inter Milan), Joel Veltman (Brighton), Matthijs de Ligt (Juventus), Nathan Ake ( Manchester City), Denzel Dumfries (PSV), Patrick van Aanholt (Crystal Palace), Owen Wijndal (AZ Alkmaar), Jurrien Timber (Ajax)


Georginio Wijnaldum(Liverpool), Frenkie de Jong(Barcelona), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Donny van de Beek (Manchester United), Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax), Teun Koopmeiners(AZ)


Memphis Depay (Lyon), Quincy Promes (Ajax), Luuk de Jong (Sevilla), Steven Berghuis (Feyenoord), Donyell Malen ( PSV), Wout Weghorst (Wolfsburg), Cody Gakpo (PSV)