Portugal Euro 2020 squad: Ronaldo leads the pack, Pepe and Pedro Goncalves earn call-ups

Portugal Football Team-14.11.2020
Portugal Football Team-14.11.2020 | Photo Credit: IMAGO

Portugal have announced their 26-man squad for the upcoming Euro 2020, with Cristiano Ronaldo captaining the side.

Veteran defender Pepe, despite 38, has been summoned by manager Fernando Santos due to his stellar form at Porto. The former Real Madrid centre-back has been at the heart of Porto’s defence this season and sported a mesmerising display against Juventus in the round of 16 of Champions League, where the Old Lady eventually fell short.

Pedro Goncalves, who was pivotal for Sporting CP winning the Primeira Liga this season, has also earned a deserved call-up.

The exciting Portuguese youngster racked up a total of 23 goals and also ended up as the league’s top scorer.

Santos also heaped praises on the 22-year-old, wanting him to carry on his form to the national team.

“I think he can give the national team what he gave this season to Sporting,” said Santos. “He is here for his quality because that is my first criterion.”

Portugal will enter into the competition as one of the favourites due to the power-packed squad.

Ruben Dias is coming off an impressive debut season at Manchester City, whom he helped to win the Premier League title. The centre-back also won the FWA Footballer of the Year award due to his contribution to the Sky Blues.

The attack looks more threatening with the likes of Bruno Fernandes, Joao Felix, led by the skipper Cristiano Ronaldo.

Fernandes has been impactful for Manchester United – the runners up of the Premier League, racking up 18 goals and 12 assists in the process. Meanwhile, Ronaldo has won the Serie A Golden boot after scoring 29 goals.

Here is the 26-man squad list of Portugal.

Portugal Euro 2020 squad


Rui Patricio (Wolves), Anthony Lopes (Lyon), Rui Silva (Grenada)


Joao Cancelo (Manchester City), Nelson Semedo (Wolves), Jose Fonte (Lille), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Pepe (FC Porto), Nuno Mendes (Sporting Lisbon), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund)


Danilo Pereira (Paris SG), Joao Palhinha (Sporting Lisbon), Ruben Neves (Wolves), Joao Moutinho (Wolves), Renato Sanches (Lille), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Sergio Oliveira (FC Porto), William Carvalho (Real Betis), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)


Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Diogo Jota (Liverpool), Rafa Silva (Benfica), Andre Silva (Eintracht Frankfurt), Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid), Gonçalo Guedes (Valencia), Pedro Goncalves (Sporting Lisbon)