Gareth Southgate announces his England squad for Euro 2020

Gareth Southgate announces his England squad for Euro 2020

England manager Gareth Southgate speaks with Trent Alexander-Arnold
England manager Gareth Southgate speaks with Trent Alexander-Arnold. | Photo Credit: IMAGO

England manager Gareth Southgate has announced his squad for the European Championships this summer.

There has been plenty of speculation surrounding the potential selections over the past few weeks, and players like Trent Alexander-Arnold were expected to miss out on the Euros.

However, Southgate has decided to include the Liverpool defender following massive backlash on social media.

There were suggestions that the 22-year-old could be left out of the England squad, but his performances over the last few months have been outstanding and Southgate has now been forced to consider his position in the England squad.

The England squad is packed with full-backs, and Southgate has opted for the likes of Reece James, Kyle Walker and Kieran Trippier, along with Alexander-Arnold.

The midfield selections have been unsurprising, and the likes of Declan Rice, Jordan Henderson Kalvin Phillips, Jack Grealish and Mason Mount have all managed to book their place in the Euro 2020 squad.

Youngsters like Jude Bellingham, Phil Foden and Bukayo Saka have been picked as well.

In the attack, the likes of Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling, Harry Kane have all managed to make the cut, but the likes of Jamie Vardy and Ollie Watkins will be disappointed to miss out after impressive Premier League campaigns.

On-loan West Ham attacker Jesse Lingard has missed out as well despite his impressive form since the turn of the year.

England squad for Euro 2020


Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Bromwich Albion), Jordan Pickford (Everton). 


Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City). 


Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Declan Rice (West Ham United).


Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City).