Ballon d’Or 2021: 30-man shortlist announced

Robert Lewandowski-Bayern Munich

The Ballon d’Or which is organized by France football was cancelled last year because of the Coronavirus pandemic but the 30-man shortlist for the 2021 award has been released.

The prestigious award is handed over to the world’s best footballer annually and the winner will be announced on the 29th of November in Paris.

The likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Jorginho, Robert Lewandowski, Karim Benzema, Neymar and Kylian Mbappe have all been named on the shortlist for the award this year.

Messi will be eyeing his 7th Ballon d’Or win this year after helping his country win the Copa America.

Meanwhile, Jorginho helped Italy win the European Championships and he also won the Champions League with Chelsea.

Lewandowski guided Bayern Munich to a league title last season by scoring 41 goals in the competition and he was a firm favourite to win the award last year before it was cancelled.

The Polish international striker will be hoping to win it this time around.

Meanwhile, the likes of Luis Suarez are on the list as well after guiding Atletico Madrid to a memorable title win last season.

Mohamed Salah, Harry Kane, Ruben Dias, Kevin de Bruyne, N’Golo Kante, Romelu Lukaku, Bruno Fernandes and Raheem Sterling are on the list as well from the Premier League.

Barcelona youngster Pedri is also a surprise inclusion on the list. He has been exceptional for club and country over the past year.

Ballon d’Or nominees

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea, Spain)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan, Italy)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)

Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus, Italy)

Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus, Italy)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG, Italy)

Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United, Portugal)

Phil Foden (Manchester City, England)

Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund, Norway)

Jorginho (Chelsea, Italy)

Harry Kane (Tottenham, England)

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, France)

Simon Kjaer (AC Milan, Denmark)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland)

Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea, Belgium)

Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City, Algeria)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan, Argentina)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG, France)

Lionel Messi (PSG, Argentina)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)

Gerard Moreno (Villarreal, Spain)

Mason Mount (Chelsea, England)

Neymar (PSG, Brazil)

Pedri (Barcelona, Spain)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Portugal)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City, England)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid, Uruguay)