Muller and Hummels recalled to Germany’s Euro 2022 squad, Musiala also included

Thomas MUELLER-Mats HUMMELS-Joachim Low-Germany
Thomas MUELLER-Mats HUMMELS-Joachim Low-Germany | Photo Credit: IMAGO

Muller and Hummels will return to the national team after a two-year hiatus.

Germany has announced their 26-man squad list for Euro 2020, with both Thomas Muller and Mats Hummels are recalled by manager Joachim Low.

Hummels and Muller have been absent in the international scenes for around two years after Low left them out to push a new era with young talents. Now, the duo has managed to earn a call up with their form at the club level.

Muller has been at his best for Bayern Munich over the last two seasons, playing an integral part in Hansi Flick’s side. The 31-year-old has contributed to around 30 goals across all competitions this season, and he has provided 18 assists in Bundesliga, the highest by any player across Europe’s top leagues.

Hummels, who has been at the heart of the defence for Borussia Dortmund this season, ensured their qualification for the Champions League.

Chelsea trio Timo Werner, Kai Havertz and Antonio Rudiger have also made it to the squad. Rudiger has been brilliant for the Blues ever since Thomas Tuchel took over, and he is likely to be a starter for Low as well.

Borussia Monchengladbach midfielder Florian Neuhaus is a valuable addition considering his impressive form, while Low will also get the services of Joshua Kimmich, Ilkay Gundogan and Toni Kroos.

Bayern’s highly-rated youngster Jamal Musiala, who switched his allegiance from England to Germany, has also been included.

Atalanta left-back Robin Gosens and Christian Gunter ( SC Freiburg) have also made the cut.

Germany’s Euro 2022 squad


Bernd Leno (Arsenal)

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt)


Matthias Ginter (Borussia Monchengladbach) 

Robin Gosens (Atalanta)

Christian Gunter (Freiburg)

Marcel Halstenberg (RB Leipzig)

Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund)

Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig)

Robin Koch (Leeds United)

Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea)

Niklas Sule (Bayern Munich 


Emre Can (Borussia Dortmund) 

Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich)

Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City)

Kai Havertz (Chelsea)

Jonas Hofmann (Borussia Monchengladbach)

Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)

Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)

Florian Neuhaus (Borussia Monchengladbach)


Serge Gnabry (Bayern Munich)

Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich) 

Leroy Sane (Bayern Munich)

Timo Werner (Chelsea)

Kevin Volland (Monaco)